No Fee
FREE ATTORNEY CONSULTATION GET IN TOUCH
April 22, 2022

Can I Go to Jail for Driving Without a License?

Driving without a valid license is a legal violation in Colorado. If you get caught driving without a valid license anywhere in Denver, you may face legal consequences. A traffic ticket lawyer in Denver can help you understand your rights and options when this happens.

If you’re worried about penalties like jail time, reach out for help. You may have an opportunity to get your charges reduced or dismissed completely with the right defense.

Driving Without a Valid License Offenses

Colorado laws distinguish between two types of offenses constituting driving without a license. One of these is driving without the issuance of a valid license. The second is driving with a revoked or suspended license. There is a notable difference between these two types of traffic offenses. Here is a look at what each constitutes and the penalties for these offenses.

If you have never been issued a traffic license in Colorado and you still drive, you may be found guilty of this offense. Driving without the issuance of a valid license is deemed a Class 2 misdemeanor under state laws.

The penalties for the first offense may include a jail sentence of ninety days to one year, a fine of $250 to $1,000, or both. If you have a valid license but fail to produce it when stopped by a law officer, you may face fines of $15 to $100 under Colorado Code Section 14-2-101.

Driving With a Revoked or Suspended License

Even if you have a driving license, it may be revoked or suspended over a traffic offense. For instance, you may temporarily lose your driving privileges when charged with a first driving under the influence (DUI) offense.

Revocation typically means that your license is permanently suspended. You must apply for a new license at the end of the revocation period. Suspension is temporary, and you can apply for license reinstatement once the suspension period ends.

Penalties for Driving Without a License

Driving on a revoked or suspended license is a more serious offense. You may face a mandatory minimum jail time under Colorado Criminal Code Title 42-2-138 if found driving on a revoked or suspended license.

The offense is considered a misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of up to $500 fine and a jail time of up to six months. However, the actual penalties also depend on why you lost your license in the first place.

For instance, if your license was suspended for DUI and you were found driving without a license, you may face a minimum of thirty days in jail, up to a maximum of one year. For a second offense, the jail time is ninety days to two years.

You may also lose your license for a longer period if charged with multiple driving without license offenses within five years. For a second or subsequent offense, you may be barred from getting a license for four years.

Seek Help from a Denver Traffic Ticket Attorney

Being charged with driving without a license is a serious offense that carries stiff penalties in Colorado. This is why it is important to defend yourself against such a charge.

At Justice for Colorado, we help you fight these charges. We’ll work hard to get your charges reduced or dismissed completely. If you’re looking for more information about potential penalties or your options for a defense, reach out to us. Call us today at 303-647-9691 or fill out our online contact form to get in touch with us about your case.

Start Live Chat With Our Team? yes No