Colorado Negligence Laws
Understanding Colorado’s negligence law is essential if you get injured in an accident and are looking for justice. When you’re injured in a car accident, slip-and-fall accident, or an accident caused by a product malfunction, you often know who’s at fault. However, if you share partial fault for the accident in question, you may hesitate to take legal action.
Knowing the negligence laws in your state determines whether you’re able to sue other liable parties in your accident when you share fault in your accident. A Denver personal injury lawyer from Justice for Colorado can explain Colorado’s negligence law to you and assess how best to move forward with your case.
Pure Comparative Negligence
Colorado recognizes a pure comparative negligence law, which is the most lenient negligence law. If you shared fault in your accident, you can sue other liable parties in your case under this law regardless of your percentage of fault. The court will calculate your percentage of fault and deduct this percentage from your overall claim value.
How to Determine Your Percentage of Fault
Knowing your percentage of fault is key when predicting the settlement you’ll receive under pure comparative negligence. If you shared 20 percent fault in your case, for example, and your damages equaled $100,000, you’ll receive $80,000. If you shared 80 percent fault in your case and your damages equaled $20,000, you’ll receive $4,000.
Speak With a Denver Personal Injury Attorney
A Denver personal injury lawyer can give you advice on whether to pursue a settlement based on the value of your damages and your percentage of fault. A lawyer can also work hard to maximize your claim value. To schedule a free consultation with our team at Justice for Colorado, call 303-647-9691 or fill out the contact form below.