FREE ATTORNEY CONSULTATION GET IN TOUCH

Denver Cell Phone Ticket Lawyer

Did you receive a cell phone ticket while driving in Denver? If so, you may need legal help to fight your case in court. Contact a Denver cell phone ticket attorney for guidance on how best to move forward.

Cell phone tickets have become an increasingly popular form of Denver traffic tickets. As people continue to use their phones while driving, the Denver police have cracked down on drivers to prevent car accidents from occurring.

You may use your phone while driving for navigation or for emergency purposes. Because the police have no way to know what you’re using your phone for, they may issue you a ticket without giving you a chance to explain yourself. With the help of a Denver cell phone ticket lawyer from Justice for Colorado, you can fight your ticket and reduce or dismiss your charges.

Laws Against Cell Phone Use While Driving in Colorado

It’s illegal to text while driving in Colorado, but there’s no law in the state against talking on the phone while driving. However, Colorado restricts drivers under the age of eighteen from talking on the phone. The only time drivers under the age of eighteen are allowed to talk on the phone while driving is if they’re calling an emergency service or a public safety entity.

Regarding texting and driving, the Denver police can issue tickets only when they see a driver using their phone, and as a result, the driver is driving carelessly. The ticket can be increased to a reckless driving offense if the driver is out of control while texting behind the wheel.  

Penalties for Cell Phone Tickets in Denver

If you’re under the age of eighteen and you’re caught talking on the phone behind the wheel, you can receive a Class A traffic infraction resulting in a $50 fine. Texting and driving is a Class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense that comes with a $300 fine.

When a driver injures someone because they were texting a driving, they’ll receive a Class 1 misdemeanor offense that can result in between ten days and one year in jail, and up to $1,000 in fines. 

How to Fight a Denver Cell Phone Ticket

There are many ways to fight your cell phone ticket with the help of a Denver cell phone ticket attorney. If you received a ticket for talking on the phone while driving because you’re under the age of eighteen, you can argue that you were calling an emergency service or a public safety entity. If you were accused of texting behind the wheel, you can prove that you weren’t texting and weren’t driving carelessly. 

Contact a Denver Cell Phone Ticket Attorney

Fighting your cell phone ticket can keep points off your driving record and may save you from an increase in insurance premiums. Because texting and driving is a misdemeanor offense, you may also avoid criminal charges. To speak with a Denver cell phone ticket lawyer from Justice for Colorado about your case, call 303-647-9691 or fill out the contact form below to schedule a free consultation.

Start Live Chat With Our Team? yes No