Denver Driving Under Restraint Lawyer
Did the police pull you over while driving on a suspended license? If so, a driving under restraint lawyer in Denver can build a defense for you and prevent you from facing the maximum penalties.
Driving under restraint is a serious offense in Colorado. You can be charged with driving under restraint if you’re caught driving with a suspended or a revoked license. Although driving under restraint in Colorado is a misdemeanor charge, the court must prove you had knowledge of your license being under restraint to convict you.
If you didn’t know that the police suspended your license when you were charged with driving under restraint, you can fight your case and potentially get your charges reduced. A Denver driving under restraint lawyer from Justice for Colorado will use evidence to build up your defense.
Penalties for Driving Under Restraint in Denver
You can face criminal penalties for driving under restraint in Denver. The severity of the penalties you face will vary depending on why your license was suspended or revoked in the first place and whether you’ve received previous charges for driving under restraint.
A first-time driving under restraint charge can result in up to six months in jail and up to a $500 fine. You can also face an extension to the restraint on your driver’s license for a minimum of one year.
If you were caught driving under restraint while under the influence of alcohol, you’ll face a minimum of sixty days in jail with a maximum of one year. You’ll also face up to $2,000 in fines and a minimum of a one-year restraint extension on your driver’s license.
How to Fight a Denver Driving Under Restraint Charge
The best defense you can use when fighting a driving under restraint charge is to prove that you weren’t aware of the restraint on your driver’s license. Because the law states that you must know your license was restrained in order to be charged, you can use this defense to get your charges reduced or dismissed. If this defense won’t work for you, your lawyer may be able to make a plea bargain.
With a plea bargain, you plead guilty to the charge in question or to lesser charges. By doing so, all parties agree to compromise and walk away with a small benefit. Although the prosecution gets a guilty plea, you get less severe penalties.
Consult a Driving Under Restraint Lawyer in Denver
If you’ve been charged with driving under restraint in Denver and you’re unsure how to move forward in the legal process, you should speak with an experienced attorney about your situation. Even if you know you’re guilty, you shouldn’t give up. You have the right to legal representation and a fair trial.
If you’d like to discuss your case in greater detail with a Denver driving under restraint lawyer from Justice for Colorado, call 303-647-9691 or fill out the contact form below to schedule a free consultation.