No Fee

Denver Drugged Driving Lawyer

Did the police charge you with driving under the influence of drugs? If so, you’ll need the help of a drugged driving attorney in Denver to defend your case in court.

DUIs in Colorado are often associated with drunk driving, but you can get charged with a DUI for driving under the influence of drugs as well. The Denver police issue traffic infractions for less severe moving violations and traffic offenses for more severe violations. Drugged driving is a traffic offense that could also result in significant criminal penalties.

If you’re charged with drugged driving in Denver, you must fight your case in court. A Denver drugged driving lawyer from Justice for Colorado can defend you and work hard to reduce or dismiss your charges. Unlike DUIs for alcohol, it’s harder to prove that drugs are in your system when you’ve been pulled over. When you fight your case, your lawyer can challenge any evidence against you.

Implied Consent for Denver Drugged Driving

The DUI implied consent law in Colorado applies to both alcohol and drugs. A driver’s consent to chemical testing is implied, which means if you refuse to testing by the police, your license will be suspended for one year. The police can also use your refusal against you in court.

Although drugs may stay in your system longer than alcohol, there’s no breathalyzer for police to test you on the scene for drugs.

Drugged Driving Penalties in Denver

If you’re lucky, you may only receive a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense for driving while impaired. But if you’re convicted of a DUI, a first-time charge can result in up to 180 days in jail and up to $500 in fines.

You may also have to serve up to 48 hours of community service and serve a probation period of up to two years. The penalties for drugged driving become harsher when you’re convicted of second, third, and fourth offenses.

Defense Strategies for Drugged Driving

It can be helpful to have a drugged driving lawyer in Denver by your side through the legal process. If you made the mistake of driving while under the influence, then your attorney can try to make a plea bargain with the judge to reduce your charges.

If you believe your charges weren’t warranted, your defense team can explain to the judge why you’re innocent. It’s possible that the Denver police doesn’t have sufficient evidence to convict you. If they don’t, your charges may be dismissed.

Consult a Denver Drugged Driving Attorney

The state of Colorado takes drugged driving just as seriously as drunk driving. This includes driving while under the influence of marijuana, even though marijuana is legal in the state. A drugged driving conviction can leave you with a permanent criminal record, points on your driving record, and harsh penalties.

If you want the best chance of fighting your case in court, you should hire an experienced legal team. To schedule a free consultation with a Denver drugged driving lawyer from Justice for Colorado, call 303-647-9691 or fill out the contact form below.

Start Live Chat With Our Team? yes No