How to Fight a Cell Phone Ticket in Denver
Seeing a Denver cop with their lights flashing behind you can be nerve-racking. When a cop pulls you over and gives you a ticket, it can ruin your day. Cell phone tickets have become as common as speeding tickets these days because drivers use their phones to communicate, to surf social media, and to navigate the roads with GPS.
Distracted driving is dangerous and can lead to life-altering accidents, which is why cops are constantly looking out for drivers using their phones. If you got a cell phone ticket and you believe the ticket was unwarranted, however, it’s possible to defend yourself in court. A Denver traffic ticket attorney from Justice for Colorado can assess your case and use evidence to try to reduce or dismiss your charges.
Colorado Laws Regarding Phone Use while Driving
Although some states have laws against talking on a cell phone while driving, Colorado does not. Unless you’re under the age of 18, you can legally talk on your phone while driving as long as you remain aware of your surroundings. Drivers under the age of 18 can talk on the phone while driving if they’re calling a public safety entity or contacting an emergency service.
It is illegal to text and drive in Colorado, no matter what age you are. Police can only give tickets for texting and driving if they see a driver texting while driving and the driver is driving in a careless and imprudent manner. If the police catch a driver texting and driving recklessly, they can escalate the ticket to a reckless driving offense.
Penalties You May Receive for Using Your Cell Phone while Driving
Drivers under the age of 18 who are caught talking on the phone while driving can receive a class A ticket infraction and may have to pay a $50 fine. A ticket for texting and driving is a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense, and the fine is $300.
Texting violations that lead to bodily injury or the death of another person are class 1 misdemeanors and may result in ten days to one year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
Defense Strategies for Cell Phone Tickets in Denver
Because Colorado’s cell phone driving laws have some loopholes, there are some defense strategies you can use in Denver traffic court to fight your cell phone ticket.
If you got a ticket for talking on the phone while driving, you can explain that you’re over the age of 18, so the law doesn’t apply to you. If you’re under the age of 18, you may argue that you were contacting an emergency service. Similarly, if you got a ticket for texting, you can argue that you were contacting an emergency service or explain that you weren’t driving recklessly.
Contact a Denver Traffic Ticket Attorney
An experienced attorney can look into your case and use evidence to defend you in court. To speak with a Denver traffic ticket lawyer from Justice for Colorado, fill out the contact form below or call 303-647-9691 to schedule a free consultation now.