How Does the Colorado Points System Work?
If you are in a situation where you might be getting points on your driving license or have accumulated some demerits, you might be wondering exactly how the points system works and if your license is still valid.
Knowing how the points system works is extremely important because it will help you know when you are facing suspension or potential other problems with your license. If you are having issues with license suspension, you can also contact a traffic ticket lawyer near you and ask for their advice on how to get points removed from your record.
Understanding the Points System In Colorado
Every time you get a moving violation on your license in Colorado, it is considered a demerit. If you get too many, you face license suspension. Twelve or more points are needed in a 12-month period to face license suspension if you’re 21 years or older.
In a 24-month period, you can face suspension if you get 18 or more points. If you have too many points with a one- or two-year period, you will face a suspension of 6 months to a year.
If you are aged 18-20, the point system works a little differently. You can only have 9 points within a 12-month period and 12 points in a 24-month period. If you get more than 14 points between the ages of 18-21, you face hefty fines and longer suspension times.
For drivers under the age of 18, you will face suspension if you have 6 or more points in 12 months or 7 points before turning 18.
Each moving violation has its own number of points, depending on how serious it is. Here are some common violations and how many points they will add to your license:
- DUI: 12 points
- Speeding more than 40 mph over the limit: 12 points
- Reckless driving: 8 points
- Driving on the wrong side of the road: 4 points
- Failure to yield right-of-way: 3 points
- Improper backing: 2 points
As you can see, serious offenses, such as driving under the influence, can give you enough points for automatic license suspension.
DMV Point Hearings
If you have too many points, you can have a point hearing at the DMV. If you do not attend the hearing, you will get an automatic license suspension of one year. It’s always a great idea to bring your lawyer to the hearing so they can cross-examine witnesses and present evidence, as well as talk to the police officer.
Get Ahold of a Lawyer to Understand the Colorado Points System
Now you have an answer to your question: How does the Colorado point system work? You don’t always have to go to court if you have too many points and are facing license suspension, but it’s certainly an option.
Find out what option may be best for you by talking with a lawyer at Justice for Colorado. Call 303-647-9691 to reach our firm or fill out the contact form below.