How Long Do Points Stay on Your Driving Record?
Whenever you commit a traffic violation in Colorado, whether it’s classified as a traffic infraction or a misdemeanor, your driving record accumulates points based on the severity of your offense.
If your license collects enough points, you could eventually face a suspension. It’s always best to know how many points you have and how long points stay on your driving record so you can avoid getting your license suspended.
How Does the Colorado Driver’s License Points System work?
Every time you commit a traffic violation, your license collects points, and how many points you get depends on the exact violation committed.
For instance, driving under the influence (DUI) can get you as much as 12 points. Minor speeding (5-9 mph over the limit) can get you 1 point, but driving 40mph or more over the limit can also get you 12 points.
How Many Points Before Your License is Suspended?
The threshold for suspension depends on how old you are.
If you are above 21 years old, you will get suspended if you incur 12 points in a 12-month period or 18 points in a 24-month period.
If you are 18-20 years old, you will get suspended if you get 9 points in a 12-month period, 12 points in a 24-month period, or a total of 14 points or more regardless of the time period until you turn 21.
For minor drivers, such as student drivers, the threshold is even lower. Accumulating 6 points in 12 months or 7 points before turning 18 is enough to get a suspension.
If you are a professional driver, the threshold is higher. It’s at 16 points in a 12-month period, 24 points in a 24-month period, and 28 points in a 48-month period. However, the burden is on you to prove that your traffic violations were committed in the course of your employment.
Professional drivers include both taxi drivers and traditional chauffeurs.
How Long Do Points Stay On a Driving Record?
The points you incurred because of a traffic violation stay for 18 months if you’re an adult. After that period, those points no longer count toward your points total. For example, a violation committed on December 1, 2021, will no longer count by December 2, 2022, for the 12-month point total, but it will still count toward the 18-month point total.
However, the traffic violation will permanently stay on your driving record.
This means even if you don’t get suspended because your violations are committed between long periods, insurance companies can see your record and use it as a reason to increase the premiums you have to pay.
How Can a Traffic Ticket Attorney Help?
The best way to avoid suspensions is to avoid getting points on your license in the first place. For every alleged traffic violation, you have a right to contest the allegations, so you don’t get points at all, and your record does not contain the violation itself.
At Justice for Colorado, our experienced traffic ticket lawyers can help you fight for your case and prove your innocence in court. Feel free to fill out the contact form below or call us at 303-647-9691 to schedule a free consultation!