I Got a Traffic Ticket for Speeding in a Work Zone—What Are My Options?
While speeding increases the risk of accidents, it is more dangerous in the work area, as road construction workers are particularly prone to serious injuries.
The CDC reports an average of 774 fatal work zone vehicle crashes occur each year. Many of these accidents are caused by speeding within work zones, which led lawmakers to consider exceeding the speed limit inside these zones a more serious violation than normal speeding.
Colorado, Speeding in a Work Zone Law
The Colorado Revised Statute Title 42, states that if the department of transportation or a local authority, within its respective jurisdictions, determines, after traffic investigation and survey, that a speed limit is necessary in a construction area, school, or other locations during specific periods of the day, the concerned authority may erect an official sign prescribed in the state traffic control manual to give notice of appropriate speed limit.
The law also states that the speed limit in the work area cannot be less than 20 mph on arterial streets and highways or 15mph on any other road or street.
Speeding Ticket Costs
The base fine is agreed upon at the discretion of the court. Aside from the base fine, there are other state charges specified in the legislature. These are added to the base cost. The law requires the court to examine and remit the additional payments authorized by the State Legislators, contributing to the preliminary amount.
Once payments have been assigned to you, you can pay by debit or credit card, cash, money order. You can expect payments to be around the following numbers:
- $ 25 for driving 5-10 mph over the speed limit
- $ 100 for driving 10-14 mph over the speed limit
- $ 125 for driving between 14 and 19 mph over the speed limit
- $ 150 for driving between 19 and 24 mph over the speed limit
- $ 500 for driving between 24 and 34 mph over the speed limit
You can also pay by check at any local court in the area where the violation occurred. Usually, if you choose not to object to the fine, you can pay before your court date and avoid showing up that day. Several courts have online payment alternatives.
There are two classifications of traffic citations that include a mandatory court appearance. The first classification is for “severe traffic offenses,” where a person could receive maximum fines, jail time, or probation and have the right to drive suspended. The second classification includes drivers under the age of twenty-one, as any infraction can cause their license to be suspended.
In addition, a speeding ticket in a work area could cause your insurance rates to increase for 36 months.
What to Do When Hit with a Speeding Ticket in a Work Zone
There are several reasons to contest a speeding ticket. This could be insufficient signage in the work area, or convincing evidence, such as surveillance footage from nearby stores or eyewitnesses.
Many people choose to pay online rather than choose the effort of fighting their speeding tickets. It’s easier than scheduling time to go to court, and that ensures you won’t have a no-show which can cause a bench warrant.
Unfortunately, not all citations can be paid online, and not all should be as simple as how to pay and go. Remember, by paying the fines, you are technically confessing that you are guilty and which will generate points on your driving record.
Contact a reputable attorney from Justice for Colorado by calling 303-647-9691 or filling out the form online to schedule a free consultation before you pay the fine, and you’ll be back on the road in no time.
For more quick answers, check out our speeding ticket FAQ page.