Types of Traffic Tickets
When you are operating a vehicle, you are agreeing to follow all traffic laws. But when you break one of these laws or a law enforcement officer has reason to believe you have, you could be facing serious consequences if you are ticketed. The penalties you’ll be facing will largely depend on the type of traffic ticket you have been issued.
There are many different ways you can be in violation of the traffic laws. Some of the more common types of traffic violations include speeding, drunk or drugged driving, and driving recklessly. Below we go into further detail about the possible consequences of a guilty verdict for each of these.
Arguably the most common type of traffic violation is speeding. You can technically be ticketed for driving even one mile per hour over the speed limit in Colorado. Individuals who are ticketed for driving anywhere between one and twenty-four miles per hour (mph) over the limit can expect a Class A traffic infraction. This is punishable by a fine of up to $100.
Anyone ticketed for driving more than twenty-five mph over the speed limit can expect to face a Class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense. If convicted, you could spend up to ninety days in jail and face a $300 fine, privation, license points, increased auto insurance premiums, and other penalties.
If you have been charged with driving under the influence (DUI), you could be facing a number of different penalties. They can also vary considerably based on any prior DUI convictions you might have on your record, how high your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) levels allegedly were, how cooperative you were in providing chemical BAC results, and other factors.
If convicted, first-time DUI offenders can expect to pay fines of as much as $1,000, be ordered to complete up to ninety-six hours of community service, have their license suspended for a minimum of nine months, be placed on probation for up to two years, and be required to complete a drug and alcohol education class.
Under Colorado law, anyone who intentionally puts other people in danger while operating a vehicle can be charged with reckless driving. This is a Class 2 misdemeanor, and if you are found guilty, you can expect to pay a fine of up to $300 as a first-time offender and spend as long as ninety days in jail.
Reckless driving and careless driving are often assumed to be the same, as the penalties are similar. However, careless or negligent driving lacks the intent to put people in danger and will therefore usually result in fewer points being added to your driving record if convicted.
Meet with a Colorado Traffic Ticket Lawyer
If you have been ticketed for any of the previously mentioned traffic offenses, or if you have been ticketed for another kind of traffic violation, and you aren’t sure where to turn, contact Justice for Colorado. Give our office a call at 303-647-9691 or fill out the quick contact form below when you are ready to schedule your free, no-obligation consultation.